Speak with a DUI Lawyer for Progressive Justice

When it comes to needing a DUI lawyer, Texas has some of the strictest DUI and repeat DUI offender laws in the country. There is very little wiggle room, which is why it is critical to engage a lawyer who is familiar with the laws of the state and knows how important it is to avoid a conviction. Typically, this can be achieved by avoiding a trial altogether. Depending on the severity of the charges, many DUI lawyers will try to get a plea bargain to make sure the DUI does not go on your record. This is because we fully understand the fact that once you have a DUI in this state, the penalties for a second or third offense are much more serious. Here is what you need to know about first-, second-, and third-time DUI convictions in this state.

If you are convicted of a first-time DUI offense in Texas, there are severe penalties, but these pale in comparison to repeat offenders. For a first-time conviction, which we would seek to avoid as your DUI lawyer, the minimum jail time is 72 hours, or six days if there is an open container present. In addition to this, you can be assessed a fine of no more than $2,000 dollars, plus other administrative and evaluation fees that may be imposed by the judge. There is a chance you could lose your license as well though this is typically avoided by attending DWI classes. You will be required to complete a 12-hour DUI education course within the first 180 days after sentencing. As you can see, these are stiff penalties, which you will want to work with your DUI lawyer to reduce or waive.

On a second offense, the sentencing gets much more severe, which is when you really want to have a seasoned DUI lawyer on your side. A second DUI is a class A misdemeanor in this state, which means it goes on your record. For a second offense, you are looking at a minimum of 72 days in jail, with up to a year possible. The fines may not exceed $4,000, but there are additional administrative costs and fees that will need to be paid. Your license can be suspended for a minimum of 180 days and up to two years, depending on a number of factors. In addition to this, you will need to complete 32 hours of the DUI education course and will be subject to probation based on the judge or jury’s recommendations. For second-time offenders, there is additional community service of 80 hours and no more than 200 hours.

As you can see, the sentencing gets progressively more severe. A third offense, with a conviction, carries a heavy sentence of between two and 10 years of jail time. The reality is that you never want to get to two or three convictions, which is why you need to get in touch with your DUI lawyer as soon as you are arrested and charged with a DUI.

Leave a Reply